Mercersburg Borough Council Borough Hall, Mercersburg, PA January 2, 2018 MINUTES

Attending: Donald (Dusty) Stoner Jr. , Jeff Main, Sean Grove, Amy Burkot, Dr. Michael Pedersen, Lisa McCoy, Paul Sipes, Mayor Roger Defibaugh, Acting Borough Manager Derek Stoy, and Solicitor Steve Coccorese

Absent: Engineer Lance Kegerreis

Guests/Press: Kim Grove 48 S. Main St., Tom Suddeth 22 North Main St., Rachel Nichols, Mercersburg Journal, Angel and Mike Meyers, 19 Loudon Road

Judge Jody Eyer asked that all newly elected council members and tax collector step forward for the swearing in ceremony. It was noted that Mayor Defibaugh was sworn in earlier in the day at the Franklin County Courthouse. Judge Eyer had all newly elected officials give the oath of office and all new members took their seats.

Mayor Defibaugh called the reorganization meeting to order and opened the floor for nominations for Council President.

Jeff Main nominated Dusty Stoner with a second by Lisa McCoy.

MOTION: to close nominations for council President by Jeff Main, second by Lisa McCoy. All ayes, motion carried. Dusty Stoner was elected President.

Mayor Defibaugh handed the gavel over to President Stoner.

President Stoner opened the floor for nominations for council vice president.

Dr. Pedersen nominated Jeff Main with a second by Amy Burkot.

MOTION: To close nominations for council vice president was made by Lisa McCoy, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried. Jeff Main was elected Vice President.

President Stoner opened the floor for nominations for President Pro Tem.

Jeff Main nominated Dusty Stoner with a second by Paul Sipes.

MOTION: To close nominations for President Pro Tem was made by Jeff Main, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried. Dusty Stoner was elected President Pro Tem.

President Stoner opened the floor for nominations for Council Treasurer.

Jeff Main nominated Lisa McCoy, second by Paul Sipes.

MOTION: To close nominations for Council Treasurer was made by Jeff Main, second Amy Burkot. All ayes, motion carried. Lisa McCoy was elected Council Treasurer.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 02-18 appointing Dusty Stoner, Jeff Main, Lisa McCoy and Dr. Michael Pedersen as check signers was made by Paul Sipes, second by Sean Grove. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 03-18 appointing Larry Nair to the water authority with the term ending December 31, 2022, was made by Jeff Main, second by Sean Grove. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 04-18 appointing Jim Malone to the sewer authority with the term ending December 31, 2022, was made by Jeff Main, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 05-18 appointing Vicki Kieffer to the General Purpose Authority with the term ending December 31, 2022, was made by Jeff Main, second by Sean Grove. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 06-18 appointing Thomas Suddeth and Catalin Bonciu to the Zoning Hearing Board with the term ending December 31, 2020, was made by Jeff Main, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 07-18 appointing Joel Bradnick to the Planning Commission with the term ending December 31, 2021, was made by Jeff Main, second by Lisa McCoy. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 08-18 appointing Jeff Main to HARB with the term ending December 31, 2022, was made by Lisa McCoy, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve Resolution 09-18 appointing Jeff Main and Thomas Suddeth to the Fire Board with the term ending December 31, 2018, was made by Amy Burkot, second by Sean Grove. All ayes, motion carried.

President Stoner went over committee appointments. Committee lists will be distributed at the next council meeting.

MOTION: To combine the trash, technology and property committees together and call it the Property Committee was made by Jeff Main, second by Lisa McCoy. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: to combine policy and personnel committees calling it the Personnel Committee was made by Jeff Main, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To approve and advertise council meeting and committee dates as follows for 2018:

MERCERSBURG BOROUGH COUNCIL

The second & fourth Mondays of each month except for May and December where they will meet only once on May 14th and December 10th.

MERCERSBURG PLANNING COMMISSION

The third Wednesday of each month.

MERCERSBURG HARB

The first Tuesday of each month with additional training dates to be determined and advertised.

MERCERSBURG PROPERTY COMMITTEE

The first Wednesday of each month with the exception of July 4th.

MERCERSBURG PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

The third Monday of each month except for January and February as they will meet on Tuesday, January 23rd and February 20th.

MERCERSBURG STREETS COMMITTEE

The fourth Wednesday of each month..

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 6th at 2:00 p.m. the remainder of the dates will be determined at a later time.

BEAUTIFICATION COMMITTEE

The first Thursday of each month at noon.

Was made by Jeff Main, second by Sean Grove. All ayes, motion carried

President Stoner moved onto the remainder of the regular meeting and asked for any public comment. None was received.

MOTION: To approve both December 11 and December 20, 2017 minutes was made by Jeff Main, second by Paul Sipes. All ayes, motion carried.

President Stoner moved to the Mayor's report.

Mayor Defibaugh reported that he as sworn in earlier in the day during a ceremony at the Franklin County Courthouse where 2 other mayors were sworn in as well. He noted that the other two mayors were former police officers just like himself. He stated it is an Honor to be the Mayor of Mercersburg.

The solicitor had nothing for the council but was available to answer any questions as they arose during the meeting.

The borough managers report was next on the agenda.

Acting Borough Manager Derek Stoy stated that due to the meeting falling so close to the end of the prior month, account balances were not available. He provided an advertisement for both the Harriet Lane and James Buchanan awards for approval.

MOTION: To approve the Harriett Lane and James Buchanan award advertisement was made by Jeff Main, second by Amy Burkot. All ayes. Motion carried.

Mr. Stoy reminded everyone to provide their contact information to him. He would like to send out council updates as time permits.

President Stoner moved on to committee reports.

Jeff Main stated on behalf of the fire board that the activities center is open, and the new fire engine should arrive soon.

The Personnel committee had one recommendation for council.

MOTION: To approve the hiring of Benjamin Barr at \$16.50 an hour as a Public Works Department employee on January 2, 2018 was made by Lisa McCoy, second by Amy Burkot. All ayes, motion carried.

President Stoner moved on to new business.

MOTION: To accept the resignation of Jonathan Kittredge from the Sewer Authority, effective December 31, 2017 was made by Jem Main, second by Amy Burkot. All ayes, motion carried.

MOTION: To adjourn was made by Jeff Main, second by Lisa McCoy. All ayes, meeting adjourned at 7:58 pm.

| Date approved: | Motion by: | Second by: |
|---------------------------------|-----------------------------------|---|
| use of his meeting notes and au | dio recording. | |
| These meeting minutes were tro | anscribed and respectfully submit | ted for approval by Derek Stoy with the |